General News

Breaking News

Prez Sirleaf reshuffles Cabinet

Benjamin S. Taingay
President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf
President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf

( 17, 2014)-President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has made new appointments in government, pending confirmation by the Senate where applicable.

Those appointed are William Gyude Moore and Roland Giddings –Minister and Deputy Minister for Administration, respectively, Ministry of Public Works, Dr. Elizabeth Davis-Russel, Dr. Nancy Freeman and Anthony Nimely –Minister, Deputy Minister for Administration and Deputy Minister for  Planning, Research and Development, respectively, Ministry of Education.

Others appointed by President Johnson-Sirleaf are Etmonia David- Tarpeh     –National Investment Commission (NIC), George Werner -Minister, Ministry of Health and Social Welfare.

Julia Duncan-Cassell, Peter Roberts, Sienne Abdul-Baki, Mardia Martin Wiles, and Lydia Sherman–were appointed Minister, Deputy Minister for Administration, Deputy Minister for Gender, Deputy Minister for Policy, Planning and Technical Services, and Deputy Minister for Children and Social Protection, respectively, Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection.

The Liberian Leader also appointed Dr. Wede Brownell –as Deputy Minister for Administration and Albratha Doe –Assistant Minister for Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as Bushuben Keita –Deputy Minister for Administration, Ministry of Transport, and Cyril Allen, Jr. –Deputy Minister for Commerce and, Mohammed Turay –Assistant Minister for Industry, Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

She also named Candace Eastman as Commissioner at the National AIDS Commission (replacing Wessehdi Sio-Njoh) and Ramses Kumbuyah as Deputy Minister for Administration, Ministry of Youth and Sports (replacing Jacqueline Capehart), and Zak Sharpe –Deputy Minister for Administration, Ministry of Lands, Mines and Energy.

The President also appointed Andrew Tehmeh as Deputy Minister for Administration, Ministry of Information, Culture Affairs and Tourism (MICAT), (replacing Norris Tweh, who now goes to an unspecified post at the University of Liberia).

Gbemie Horace Kollie goes to the Ministry of Internal Affairs as Deputy Minister for Operations (replacing Ranny Jackson), Margretta Smith-General goes at the Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications as Assistant Minister for Administration (replacing James Cooper).

Those appointed by President Johnson-Sirleaf to serve at the Liberia Broadcasting System (LBS) are Ledgerhood Rennie–Director-General (replacing Darryl Ambrose Nmah), Patrick Honnah –Deputy Director-General for Broadcasting (replacing Ledgerhood Rennie), and Christopher Sellee –Deputy Director-General for Rural Broadcasting (replacing Patrick Honnah).


Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.