General News

Breaking News

Prez Sirleaf praises Europe for 3.6m donation

Arthur Douglas
President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf
President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf

( 25, 2014)-President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has praised the Governments of eight European Countries for sending a ship of medical equipment and other materials to Liberia.

The eight European countries include Belgium, France, Denmark, Germany, Sweden, Hungary, the Netherlands and Spain.

President Johnson-Sirleaf said: “The arrival of the medical drugs and equipment, including Ambulances, land cruiser jeeps and medical beds, is a boost to Liberia’s fight
against Ebola.”

She lauded the Dutch Government for its pledge to contribute to efforts to improve Liberia’s post-Ebola economy.

The President made the statement Monday, November 24, 2014 at the Free Port of Monrovia, when she received the materials on behalf of the Liberian Government.

The consignment was brought into Liberia via a Dutch Naval Vessel that docked at the port with the medical drugs and equipment, and other materials.

“The Ebola outbreak has not only devastated the country’s economy, but has also brought sufferings to the citizenry,” the Liberian Leader noted.

The President also said: “After Ebola, the Government needs to provide more job opportunities for Liberians and improve the educational system.”

Presenting the materials to President Johnson-Sirleaf, Netherlands Ambassador to Liberia, Hans Docter, said: “The second consignment of medical drugs and equipment will arrive in the country in December (2014).”

Ambassador Docter also said: “The Government of Netherlands will continue supporting the three Ebola-affected West African nations, including Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone.”

He further promised his government’s continued commitment to helping Liberia improve on its economy, devastated by the Ebola outbreak.

The Netherlands Ambassador then praised the Johnson-Sirleaf-led Government and the International Community’s courageous fight against Ebola and called on Liberians to join the fight to defeat the virus.

Ambassador Docter specifically urged the three Ebola-affected countries to re-enforce their collaboration in the fight against the Virus.

“None of the three Ebola-affected countries will be Ebola free, unless all of them are declared free of the disease,” the Ambassador said.

Other senior government officials, including Foreign Minister, Augustine Ngafuan, European Ambassador to Liberia, and international NGOs graced the turnover ceremony.


Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.