General News

Breaking News

Liberia Senatorial Election: Polling closed

Benjamin S. Taingay

( 20, 2014)-Polling in the 2014 Special Senatorial Election in Liberia has officially come to a close.

According to our Correspondents across Liberia, Polling officially closed at 6:pm Friday, December 20 and counting has already started at various centers across the country.

There are 139 candidates contesting 15 seats in the Special Senatorial Election.

Our Correspondents say some polling centers experienced huge turnouts while turnouts in other areas were at a very low key.

The process continued throughout the day without any semblance of violence.  

Meanwhile, brings to some of the most popular candidates in the just ended election in the respective counties:

MONTSERRADO: Ambassador George Manneh Weah (Congress for Democratic Change (CDC)/former Chair/Peace & Reconciliation Commission), of the and Independent candidate, Robert Alvin Sirleaf (independent/son of President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf).

BONG: Jewell C. Howard-Taylor (incumbent/National Patriotic Party-NPP), Dr. Henrique Flomo Tokpah (independent/Cuttington University President/), and Ranney Banama Jackson (Unity Party/former Bong County Superintendent).

GBARPOLU: Daniel Flomo Naatehn, Sr.(Alternative National Congress-ANC/former senator), Sumoward Edwin Harris(Liberty Party-LP/Lutheran Bishop Emeritus), and Alaric K. Tokpah (National Democratic Coalition-NDC/Political Science Professor).

GRAND BASSA: Gbehzohngar Milton Findley (independent/incumbent/Senate Pro-Tem) and Jonathan Lambort Kaipay (Liberty Party-LP/former contender).

GRAND CAPE MOUNT: Cllr. Varney Gbotonambi Sherman (Unity Party Chair) and Dr. Fodee Kromah (Congress for Democratic Change-CDC/former President/National Oil Company of Liberia).

RIVER GEE: Conmany B. Wesseh (Unity Party-UP/former Ambassador) and Daniel G. Johnson (Alternative National Congress-ANC/former Monrovia City Mayor).

MARYLAND: John A. Ballout, JR. (Unity Party-UP/incumbent) and Bhofal Chambers (Congress for Democratic Change-CDC/Representative).

SINOE: Mobutu Vlah Nyenpan (Alliance for Peace and Democracy-APD/ incumbent) and Milton Juojulue Teahjay(Unity Party-UP/former Superintendent).

NIMBA: Prince Y. Johnson (independent/incumbent) and Edith Lianue Gongloe-Weh (Liberty Party-LP/former Superintendent & sister to former Education Minister).

MARGIBI: Clarice Alpha Jah (Liberty Party-LP/incumbent), Saah Richard Gbollie (National Patriotic Party-NPP/former Representative).

LOFA: Sumo G. Kupee (People’s Unification Party-PUP/incumbent) Alhaji G. V. Kromah (independent/University Professor), Stephen J. H. Zargo (Liberty Party-LP), Galakpai Woizee Kortimai (Congress for Democratic Change-CDC/former Superintendent).

RIVERCESS: Jay Jonathan Barney (People’s Unification Party-PUP/incumbent), Wellington Geevon Smith (Unity Party-UP/former Superintendent) & Francis Saturday Pay (National Democratic Congress-NDC/Representative).

BOMI: Lahai Gbabye Lassanah (National Patriotic Party-NPP/incumbent), Morris Gato Saytumah (Unity Party-UP) & Hajah Sheri Washington (Liberty Party-LP/former Superintendent).

GRAND KRU: Roseline Sneh (Unity Party-UP/Superintendent) & Albert Chea (independent/University Professor).

GRAND GEDEH: Samuel K. Doe, Jr. (independent/son of former President Samuel Kanyon Doe), & Zoe Emmanuel Pennue (independent).


Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.