Liberia Broadcasting System

Twelve Senators inducted

Jonathan Grigsby/Benjamin S. Taingay
Senator George M. Weah being certificated
Senator George M. Weah being certificated

( 15, 2015)-Twelve Senators-elect have been inducted as members of the Liberian Senate.

The induction ceremonies were held Wednesday, January 14, 2015 in the Senate’s Chamber at the National Legislature in Monrovia.

The decision followed the submission of their respective certificates and other essential credentials to Plenary by the Senate Committee on Rules, Orders and Administration.

The documents were submitted Monday, January 12, 2014 during the official opening ceremonies at the Capitol.

They were among 15 senators recently declared winners of the December 20, 2014 Special Senatorial Election in Liberia.

Senators Jewel Howard Taylor and Prince Johnson were among those inducted.

Speaking at Wednesday’s special session, Vice President, Joseph Boakai, praised the newly inducted senators for their courage and determination to win the senate seats in their various counties.

Vice President Boakai is, at the same time, calling for collaborative efforts between members of the senate to improve Liberia’s socio-economic sector.

Three of the 15 Senators-elect were not inducted, because of complaints filed at the Supreme Court for election-related fraud allegedly committed during exercise in three counties.

The complaints were filed at the court by some aggrieved candidates in the foregone election for redress.

As a result of the complaints, the highest court recently ordered the National Elections Commission (NEC) not to certificate the three concerned Senators-elect until the case is adjudicated.

The three affected Senators are Cllr. Varney Sherman, Morris Saytumah and Jim Tornorlah of Grand Cape Mount, Bomi and Margibi Counties, respectively.


Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.