Liberia Broadcasting System

Cllrs. Sherman, Zargoe complete Senates Leadership

Jonathan Grigsby/Benjamin S. Taingay
Senator, Varney Sherman
Senator, Varney Sherman

( 26, 2015)-Grand Cape Mount County Senator, Varney Sherman, has been elected Chairman of the Senate’s Judiciary, Claims and Petition Committee.

Also, Lofa County Senator, Steven Zargoe, was elected by his colleagues to chair the Senate’s Defense, Intelligent and National Security Committee.

Senators Sherman and Zargoe were elected on white ballots at Tuesday, February 24, 2015 Session at the National Legislature.

They were the only two candidates who applied to contest the two vacancies announced about two weeks ago.

The election concludes the re-structuring of theSenate’sLeadership by democratically determining the various statutory committee heads at the Liberian Senate.

The leadership election at the Liberian Senate was initiated Thursday, February 12, 2015 by the landmark election of Gbarpolu County Senator, Amah Jallah, as President Pro-Tempore of the Liberian Senate.

Other Senators elected at Thursday’s Session include Montserrado County Senator, Geraldine Doe-Sheriff, Lofa County Senator, George Tengbeh, Bomi County Senator, Edward Dagoseh.

They were elected to Chair the Committees on Executive, Rules, Order and Administration, and Ways, Means and Finance, respectively.

The election was also occasioned by the appointments of other members of the Senate to international parliamentary positions.


Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.