General News

Breaking News

Liberia's Chief Executive makes new appointments in gov't

Joseph T. Koon/Benjamin S. Taingay
Liberia's Chief Executive, Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf
Liberia's Chief Executive, Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf

MONROVIA, LIBERIA-President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has made several appointments in government to enhance efficiency and productivity.

According to an Executive Mansion release, those appointed are Sylvester Grigsby, Minister, Ministry of States for Presidential Affairs, Rev. Sando Townsend,  Religious Advisor to the President, Samuel Wlu, Minister of Transport and Gbovadeh  Gbilia  -  Deputy Education Minister for Planning, Research and Development.

Others include, Saa David Nyuma, Assistant Education Minister for Planning, Research and Development, Florence Allen-Jones, Assistant Education Minister for Early Childhood Development, Lalata Neufville Wei Assistant Education Minister for Fiscal Affairs & Huma Resource Development.

Others are, Bobby Livingstone, Deputy Information Minister for Public Affairs, Morris Dukuly, Chairman, Board of Directors, Liberia Petroleum Refining Company, Sam Gaye, Director, Executive Protective Services and Frank Nyekan, Consultant, National Security Agency (NSA).

Willye Mai Tolbert King, Ambassador, La Cote d’Ivoire , Angela Cassell-Bush to be re-assigned, Col Prince  Johnson, III,  Deputy Chief of Staff (to be promoted to Brigadier General) were also appointed by the President.

Also among those appointed by the Liberian Leader are Lt. Col Davidson Forley - Commandant, Armed Force of Liberia Training Command (to be promoted to Colonel).

Individuals appointed at the Local Government Structure include Moses Janjay Tinko Bull - Assistant Superintendent for Development, Grand Bassa County, and Gyude Brown -City Mayor, Harper City in Maryland County.

Others appointed in Sinoe County are John Karlor -Commissioner, Juarzon County District, Frederick Koffa -District Inspector and Menjay Wleh -City Mayor, Mexico City, Juarzon Statutory District.

Isaac Quetoh -Township Commissioner, Tobo Township, Joe Harmon - Township Commissioner, Chelor Township, and Harry Dorbor -Township Commissioner, Needweh Township, all with assignment in Sinoe County.

The Liberian Chief Executive has also constituted a National Steering Committee on Climate Change.

The National Steering Committee comprises government Ministries and Agencies, as well as individuals.

The Committee members include, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Forestry Development Authority (FDA), Ministries of Lands, Mines and Energy, Transport, and Gender, Women and Children, as well as Dr. Togba-Nah Tipoteh.

The new appointments are subject to confirmation by the Senate, where applicable.




Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.