International News

Breaking News

A U expresses concern of U.S. Temporary Immigration ban

Arthur Douglas/ Jos Garneo Cephas
US President, Donald Trump,
US President, Donald Trump,

The African Union commission has described the temporary U.S. immigration ban against three African nations as a concern for the entire continent.

In Africa, the ban targets Libya, Somalia, Sudan, predominantly Muslim nations with already complicated, sometimes strained, relations with the United States.

The U.S. government does not maintain an embassy in either Libya or Somalia, largely because of safety concerns.

In a speech before dozens of African leaders at the opening of the African Union summit Monday, January 30,2017, the  AU Commissioner Chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma said this ban affects all African nations.

Dr. Zuma said the very country to whom many of our people were taken as slaves during the transatlantic slave trade has now decided to ban refugees from some of our countries.

She said the situation was indeed, the greatest challenges to the continent’s unity and solidarity.

The 90-day ban also includes Iran, Iraq, Syria, and Yemen, with the 7 countries representing about 12 percent of the world's Muslims.

The Trump administration says the ban, and a 120 ban on accepting refugees, is in place while U.S. immigration laws and security can be reviewed in order to enhance public safety.


Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.