General News

Breaking News

President Sirleaf declares Tuesday as World Refugee Day

BST/Maximilian Kasseh, Jr,
President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has, by Proclamation, declared Tuesday, June 20, 2017 as World Refugee Day, to be observed throughout the country as a Working Holiday. World Refugee Day is particularly commemorated to acknowledge the difficulties faced by refugees forced to cross international borders and those in their own countries as internally displaced persons (IDPs). According to a Foreign Ministry release issued today, Monday, this year’s official ceremony of the day in Liberia will be held at the PTP Refugee Camp in Grand Gedeh County, under the theme: “We Stand Together with Refugees.” The Proclamation is calling on all citizens and foreign residents, national and international youth organizations, and government agencies concerned to join the Liberia Refugees Repatriation Resettlement Commission (LRRRC) and execute appropriate programs befitting the observance of the day. The release said more than 100 countries, humanitarian aid workers, celebrities, civilians, and the Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) and refugees themselves, will hold variety of events to mark the observance of the day. World Refugee Day serves as a platform to raise awareness and promote solidarity with refugees through social media and radio programs to enable UNHCR disseminates information on the different durable solutions, notably voluntary repatriation and local integration. As a founding member of the United Nations, the Liberian Government has reaffirmed its commitment to protecting IDPs and refugees. The United Nations General Assembly adopted Regulation 55/76, declaring June 20 of each year as World Refugee Day to be celebrated by Member States. The celebration is in recognition of the courage and resilience of more than 50 million persons around the world forced to flee their homes, due to conflicts or human rights abuses, the release also noted.

Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.