General News

Breaking News

NEC declares Weah President, Boakai conceeds

Jacob Parley / Jos Garneo Cephas
President-elect, George Manneh Weah.
President-elect, George Manneh Weah.

MONROVIA,LIBERIA- Former Liberian Football Ledgend, Senator George Manneh Weah, has been declared winner of the December 26, 2017 Presidential Run-Off Elections.

The Chairman of the National Elections Commission (NEC), Jerome Korkoyah, in pronouncing the final results in the run-off elections, said: “Senator George Weah’s Coaliation for Democratic Change obtained the total of 732,185 votes representing 61.5 % and Vice President Joseph Nyumah Boakai got 457,579  votes, accounting for 38.5%”. 

Cllr. Korkoyah made the pronouncemt Friday, December 29, 2017 at the National Elections Commission headquarters in Monrovia.

Prior to announcing the final results, NEC Boss provided the remaining provisional results from four counties- Lofa, Nimba, Margibi and Sinoe- that were not fully covered in the Thursday’s preliminarly results.

Meanwhile, Cllr. Korkoyah has commended the Liberian Government, local and international partners, including ECOWAS, African Union, the European Union and The Carter Center among others for supporting the Commission.

Meanwhile, the Standard Bearer of the governing Unity Party (UP), Vice President Joseph Boakai has conceded defeat and  has congratulated president-elect George Weah, in a telephone conversation for winning the presidential Run-Off Election.

VP Boakai also has accepted the preliminary results released by the  NEC Thursday, December 28,2017, at same time wishing  Senator Weah well in sterring the affairs of the State as he pledged his support to provide assistance to the Weah’s administration where necessary.

The 2017 Elections marks Senator Weah’s second attempt for the Liberian Presidency, having ran in 2005 when he lost to President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and now 2017, defeating Vice President Joseph Boakai.

In 2011, Ambassador Weah contested as a running mate to Winston Tubman. After loosing to President Sirleaf, he contested in the 2014 senatorial elections and won as senator of Montserrado County.


Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.