General News

Breaking News

Pres. Weah instructs Gov. Ministries, Agencies to submit procurement plans

Francis Pelenah/Maximilian Kasseh, Jr.
President George Manneh Weah
President George Manneh Weah

MONROVIA, LIBERIA-President Weah has instructed all government ministries, agencies and commissions to submit their procurement plans to the Ministry of Finance and the Public Procurement and Concession Commission (PPCC) in the shortest possible time.

President Weah warned that ministries or agencies failing to submit their procurement plans will be denied their allotments in the National Budget.

The President told his cabinet that as the First Anniversary of his Government draws near, it is incumbent upon officials of his administration to ensure that critical actions and policies agreed upon are implemented.

Speaking at a cabinet meeting Thursday, December 6, 2018, in Monrovia, President Weah reiterated his calls for members of his cabinet to be tax compliant.

The President asked the Ministry of Finance and Development Planning, the Liberia Revenue Authority and other line ministries to devise means by which non-compliant officials’ salaries will be subjected to monthly deduction.

The President and his cabinet also discuss other important strategies towards achieving the objectives and deliverables of the Pro-Poor Agenda for Prosperity and Development.

During the meeting, LRA Commissioner-General, Thomas Doe Nah, and LACC’s Executive Chairman, Cllr. James Verdier, made separate presentations on the states and implications of government officials’ compliance to tax payment and asset declarations.


In a related development, the Liberian Cabinet has agreed to embark upon a national address system.

The move will capture and locate every building or structure with their specific details within the borders of Liberia.

In line with the plan, President George Weah has constituted a special committee to develop a framework for the National Address System and report subsequently to the Cabinet.

Members of the special committee include the Post and Telecommunications Ministry, Liberia Revenue Authority, the Liberia Institute of Statistics and Geo-Information Services, and the Liberia Electricity Corporation.

Other members include Public Procurement and Concession Commission Director, Dorbor Jallah, and General Services Agency Director General Mary Broh. 


Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.