General News

Breaking News

Prez. Sirleaf reshuffles cabinet

By Patrick Flomo
The Liberian Leader, President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf
The Liberian Leader, President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf


(Mylbsonline/Liberia)-President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has begun a Cabinet reshuffle, reflecting some new faces in government.

President Johnson-Sirleaf announced the cabinet reshuffle in a nation-wide broadcast Monday, March 11, 2013 via her Foreign Ministry office in Monrovia.

The Cabinet reshuffle reflected a swap in positions between the Ministers of Transport, Len Eugene Nagbe and Youth and Sports, Tornorlah Varpilah.

Individuals appointed to other positions of trust are, Cie-A.Yeaneh Youh, Minister of Labor, Axel Addy, Minister of Commerce and Industry, Candace Eastman, Deputy Minister for Commerce and Industry, Cyril Allen, II, Deputy Minister for Administration, Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

Also appointed by President Johnson-Sirleaf include, Betty Larmine-Blamo, Deputy Minister of Justice/Solicitor General, Una Thompson , Deputy Minister for Administration and Elijah Shoniyin, Deputy Minister for International Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Others are, Edwin Tetteh, Deputy Minister for Administration, Dr. Khalifa Bility, Deputy Minister for Planning, Research and Development, Hawa Goll Kotchi, Deputy Minister for Instruction, all of the Ministry of Education.

The President also appointed Stephen Dorbor, Sr., Deputy Minister for Planning and Human Resource Development and Mariam Karba, Assistant Minister for Energy, Ministry of Lands, Mines and Energy.

Others include, Amos Tweh , Deputy Minister for Urban Affairs, Robert Bestman, Assistant Minister for Urban Affairs, Lusennie Bility -Assistant Minister for Legal Affairs, and Alexander Suah , Assistant Minister for Operations, all of the Ministry of Internal Affairs.

President Sirleaf also appointed George Werner, Director General of the Civil Service Agency (CSA), and former CSA Director General, Dr. C. William Allen, Ambassador.

Mr. Oblayon Nyumah goes to the Liberia Institute for Public Administration as Director General and former Labor Minister, Varbah Gayflor, becomes Director General of the Cabinet.

Dewitt Von Ballmoos becomes Director General of the National Social Security and Welfare Corporation (NASSCORP), while Nyan Twayen goes as Deputy Director General for Administration, NASSCORP.

Others are, Benjamin Jacobs –Superintendent of the Monrovia Consolidated School System (MCSS), as well as Retired General, Rudolf F. Kolaco, Sr., Director General and Retired Colonel, Ralley Karkor, Deputy Director General for Administration, both of the National Bureau of Veteran Affairs.

President Sirleaf said: “These appointments are not the last, as more appointments would be made in the next few days.’’


Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.