General News

Breaking News

Pres. Weah appoints Steering Committee of Special Economic Zones

Maximilian Kasseh, Jr.
President George Weah
President George Weah

MONROVIA, LIBERIA-President Weah has appointed a Steering Committee (SC) of Special Economic Zone (SEZ) with immediate effect.

The Committee is to create, drive, guide, enhance, coordinate and manage single, multiple and mixed-use Special Economic Zones (SEZs) in Liberia.

According to a release, the Committee will further ensure the SEZ establishment in Liberia beginning with the Buchanan Site.

The Committee consists of Finance Minister Development as Chair, while the Ministers of Commerce, State without Portfolio and Agriculture are members.

Also serving as members are LRA Commissioner-General, Liberia Land Authority Chairman, Managing Director of the Environmental Protection Agency, the National Port Authority Executive Director, and the National Investment Commission Chairman.

President Weah then named the Presidents of the Liberia Chamber of Commerce, and the Liberia Business Association, Country Manger of the African Development Bank, Resident Representative of the International Finance Corporation and USAID Country Director as members from the Private Sector and Development Partners.


Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.