General News

Breaking News

Prez. Sirleaf makes new appoints in government

By Patrick Flomo
President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf
President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf

( Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has made additional appointments in government, and established the National Maritime Security Committee.

The appointment action affects the ministries of Agriculture, Foreign Affairs and Education and the Maritime sector.

An Executive Mansion release named those appointed as Seklau Wiles –Deputy Minister for Administration, Dr.
Charles McClain –Deputy Minister for Planning and Development, and Dr. Moses Zinnah –Managing Director for the Program Management Unit, all of the Ministry of Agriculture.

Others are, Edwin Sele –Ambassador to the Kingdom of Morocco, James Andrews –Assistant Minister for Fiscal Affairs, Charles Gaye –Assistant Minister for Technical & Vocational Education Training, all of the Ministry of Education.

In another development, President Johnson-Sirleaf has established the National Maritime Security Committee.

The Liberian Leader said: “The Committee will be responsible for, among other duties, developing and implementing the nation’s maritime security strategy, implementing, enforcing and reviewing all maritime-related activities consistent with maritime security-related matters, International Maritime Organization (IMO) Conventions, protocols and treaties to which Liberia is a signatory.

Other responsibilities of the National Maritime Security Committee include planning for maritime security incidents and coordinating the responses of the various stakeholders.

The establishment of the committee is in line with Section 2.14 of the Guide to the Implementation of the International Ship and Port Facilities Security (ISPS) Code of 2003 as amended, to which Liberia is a signatory.

The Ministries of Foreign Affairs, National Defense, Justice, Agriculture and Finance are members of the National Maritime Security Committee, as well as the Liberia Maritime Authority, Liberia National Coast Guard, Drug Enforcement Administration.

Other members are the Liberia National Police, Bureau of Fisheries, National Port Authority, National Security Agency, as well as the Bureau of Customs and Excise, National Oil Company of Liberia, Environmental Protection Agency, and the National Security Advisor’s office. 


Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.