General News

Breaking News

Govt. honors 15 magistrates

By Augustine N. Myers
Chief Justice, Francis Korkpor and others at the close of the program.
Chief Justice, Francis Korkpor and others at the close of the program.

 ( Stipendiary and Associate Magistrates, assigned in Lofa, Nimba and Grand Gedeh Counties, have been honored and retired for their sacrificial services to Liberia.

The respective retirees, according to reports, served as Magistrates and Associate Magistrates with distinctions for over 70 years.

The ceremony was held in Sanniquellie, Nimba County over the weekend.

It brought together cross session of judges, including Liberia’s Chief Justice, Francis Korkpor, Associate Justice, Jamesetta Wolokollie, Judge Sie-Nyene yuoh, among others.

Speaking at the ceremony, Chief Justice, Francis Korkpor, said: “The Liberian constitution provides that judges must retire from active service at the age of 70.”

“Most of the honorees worked for more than 70 years,” Chief Justice Korkpor told the gathering in Sanniquellie. He also said: “When one is employed with the Judiciary,

copy of the Personnel Action Notice form is shared among the Civil Service Agency (CSA), the National Social Security and Welfare Corporation (NSSCORP) and the Ministry of Finance.”

“This form, filed by the employee, contains pertinent information, including age. It creates awareness among these institutions as to when the particular judicial personnel becomes eligible for retirement,” the Chief Justice added.

“The Judiciary has consistently conducted retirement programs for judges and judicial workers throughout the country.”

“In the past, the Liberian Judiciary was marred by low salaries, poor working environment, including inadequate infrastructure and logistics, among others, but tremendous improvement has been made in the System,” Justice Korkpor also told following the honoring program.

Speaking on behalf of his colleagues, one of the retirees thanked the government for the honor bestowed upon them, but called for the empowerment of their replacee, unlike their time they were not empowered.

Out of the 15 Magistrates, five came from Nimba, four from Lofa and six from Grand Gedeh counties.

Those retired include Robert Karpu, Rufus Moisema,Henry kpakala and Cyprine Kollie all of Lofa county, while Charles Gloshea, Moses mangou, Gideon Tozay, John Gomah and Francis Barghan of Nimba County.

Others were Joseph Scott, George Nelson, Amos Tarley, Harris Gewon, Cooper Beh and Victor Konglon of grand Gedeh county.


Copyright 2012 All Rights Reserved.