Home NewsLiberia Liberia’s 55th Nat’l Legislature Elects New Speaker Today

Liberia’s 55th Nat’l Legislature Elects New Speaker Today

by Maximilian K. Kasseh jr

MONROVIA, LIBERIA-Members of the 55th National Legislature of Liberia will later today elect a new Speaker of the House of Representatives for a six-year term, following the dissolution of the 54th National Legislature as enshrined in the 1986 Liberia Constitution.

The Coalition for Democratic Change (CDC) Lawmaker, Cllr. Fonati Koffa and Unity Party’s (UP) Richard Koon are vying for the Speakership position in the House of Representatives.

Reports say Representatives Moimah Briggs-Mensah and Thomas Fallah are vying for the Deputy Speakership post.

Other executive positions in the House of Representatives include Deputy Speaker, Chief Clerk, Deputy Chief, and Sergeant-At-Arm, respectively.

At the same time, members of the Liberian Senate will later today elect a new Senate Pro-tempore to steer the affairs of that august body for a six-year term.

Reports say Grand Bassa County Senator, Nyomblee Karga-Lawrence, is going unopposed as the only candidate for the pro-tempt position.

However, the latest report reaching this station says Grand Bassa County Senator-elect, Gbehzongar Finely, has concluded intense consultations to contest the ensuing Pro-Tempt election.

Meanwhile, the 55th National Legislature is expected to commence official duties on today, Monday, January 15, 2024, consistent with Article 32 of the Liberian Constitution.

A release issued recently quotes the Liberian Constitution as saying the Legislature shall assemble on the Second Working Monday in January of each year to mark the conclusion of the 54th Legislature’s tenure and the initiation of the new legislative session.

The release said following the adjournment of the 54th National Legislature under the leadership of Speaker Bhofal Chambers, Chief Clerk, Mildred Siryon, will assume control and administer the Oath of Office to the incoming members of the House of Representatives.

The Oath of Office is in line with the House’s Rules under Section 11, mandating the taking of oath by the representatives before assuming their seats.

By: Joseph Koon

You may also like

Leave a Comment