Home NewsInternational African Union Group of Ambassadors Name Liberia’s Amb. Isaac Nyenabo as Chairman

African Union Group of Ambassadors Name Liberia’s Amb. Isaac Nyenabo as Chairman

by Administrator

MONROVIA, LIBERIA – The Head of the Liberian Delegation to the Permanent Mission to the African Union, Ambassador Isaac Nyenabo, has been appointed as Chairman of the African Group of Ambassadors commonly called the African Group of Ambassadors Brussels.

Ambassador Nyenabo is to serve the in the position on a rotational basis for three months.

The three- month tenure of Ambassador Nyenabo commences from March 4 through June 4, 2020, with Algeria, Cameroon, Kenya, Lesotho, Libya, São Tomé and Príncipe, South Africa, Togo, Uganda serving as Vice-Chairpersons of the Bureau of African Ambassadors. 

According to a dispatch from Brussels, Nyenabo replaces his Kenyan Counterpart, Ambassador Joshua MUGODO (Outgoing Chairperson) whose tour of duty as Chair of the group came to end during the last term.

The incoming Chairman will consider the outcomes of the 33rd Summit of the African Union held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, on 6-10 February 2020.

In his remark, Ambassador Nyenabo expressed warm appreciation and gratitude to the 55 member states of the African Union in Brussels for the opportunity given him to serve as Chair of the Group. 

He, however, assured his Colleagues of H.E President George Manneh Weah, President of Republic of Liberia commitment to Multilateralism, Regional Integration, effective solidarity, and promotion of Peace.

For his part, the outgoing Chairman, H.E Joshua MUGODO congratulated Amb. Nyenabo on his ascendancy and presented the activity report of GAAB for the period.

You may also like

Leave a Comment